May 26-29, 2010

Warsaw, Poland

Novotel Warszawa Centrum
Marszałkowska 94/98
00-510 Warsaw

The ESMI succeed in showing the advantage of translational networking by bringing together physicists, technologists, physicians, biologists, and chemists; as well as by the close organisational collaboration with EU funded network-projects “DiMI– Diagnostic Molecular Imaging” as well as “Clinigene – Clinical Gene and Cell Therapy” and the “European Society for Radiology – ESR”. The meeting was also supported through “COST Actions – European Cooperation in Science and Technology”.

Session Topics:
  • Technology
  • Probes
  • Gene and cell based therapy
  • Neuroscience 
  • Cardiovascular 
  • Cancer
  • Drug development
Poster Topics:
  • MI in Cancer Biology – Visualisation of Extra- and Intracellular Processes
  • Imaging in Drug Development
  • Cancer from Bench to Bedside – Translational Research in Oncology
  • Imaging in Cardiovascular Disease: from Bench to Bedside
  • Molecular Neuroimaging: from Bench to Bedside
  • Imaging-guided Gene and Cell based Therapies
  • Probe Design – Innovative Approaches to Smart Contrast Agents
  • Technology – Technical Advances in MI Instrumentation
  • Imaging in Endocrine Diseases
  • MI of Infection and Inflammation
  • Imaging for Targeted Therapy
  • MI Data Analysis Methods

Scientific Committee:

Ludwig Aigner, Salzburg (A)
Silvio Aime, Torino (I)
Veerle Baekelandt, Leuven (B)
Hervé Boutin, Manchester (Uk)
Harald Carlsen, Oslo (N)
John Clark, Edinburgh (Uk)
Marion Dejong, Rotterdam (Nl)
Silvana Del Vecchio, Naples (I)
Frédéric Dollé, Orsay (F)
Eugeniusz Dzuik, Warsaw (Pl)
Cornel Fraefel, Zuerich (Ch)
Jorgen Frokiaer, Aarhus (Dk)
Nicolas Grenier, Bordeaux (F)
Denis Guilloteau, Tours (F)
Uwe Haberkorn, Heidelberg (D)
Mathias Höhn, Cologne (D)
Andreas H. Jacobs, Münster (D)
Fabian Kiessling, Aachen (D)
Izabela Kozlowicz-Gudzinska, Warsaw (P)
Leszek Krolicki, Warsaw (Pl)
Tony Lahoutte, Jette (B)
Adriaan Lammertsma, Amsterdam (Nl)

Bengt Långstrom, (S)
Clemens W.G.M. Löwik, Leiden (Nl)
Helmut R. Maecke, Freiburg (Ch)
Adriana Maggi, Milano (I)
Serge Maitrejean, Paris (F)
Renata Mikolajczak, Warsaw (P)
Chrit Moonen, Bordeaux (F)
Klaas Nicolay, Eindhoven (Nl)
Vasilis Nziachristos,Munich (D)
Sabina Pappata, Naples (I)
David Parker, Durham (Uk)
Bernd PIchler, Tübingen (D)
Anna Planas, Barcelona (E)
Juha Rinne, Turku (Fin)
Jorge Ripoll, Heraklion (Gr)
Markus Rudin, Zürich (Ch)
Michael Schäfers, Münster (D)
Markus Schwaiger, Munich (D)
Bertrand Tavitian, Orsay (F)
Eva Tóth, Orleans (F)
Annemie Van Der Linden, Antwerp (B)
David Wyper, Glasgow (Uk)

Young Investigator Award Selection Committee:

Veerle Baekelandt
Hervé Boutin
Peter Brader
John Clark (Chair)                                 
Frédéric Dollé
Nicolas Grenier
Fabian Kiessling
Adriaan Lammertsma

Renata Mikolajczak
Chrit Moonen
Klaas Nicolay
Markus Schwaiger
Bertrand Tavitian (Chair)
Eva Tóth
David Wyper

Within the ESMI General Assembly in Warsaw on Friday May, 29, 2010 the former ESMI president Andreas H. Jacobs handed over the presidentship to Clemens W.G.M. Löwik. 

ESMI Young Investigator Awards 2010

The ESMI Young Investigator Award 2010 went to three deserving individuals whose laboratories and research highlight the scientific diversity of the European Molecular Imaging Meeting:

and Caroline Vandeputte from Leuven, Belgium for her work on

ESMI Poster Awards 2010

The Poster Awards 2010 were presented to ten outstanding scientific contributions in seven diverse fields of MI:

Imaging Cancer Biology

Technology and Data Analysis Methods 
Molecular Neuroimaging 

Imaging in Cancer and Drug Development

Yolanda Fernández

Imaging in other Diseases
Imaging Guided Gene and Cell based Therapies