European Society for Molecular Imaging

ESMI MISSION STATEMENT 2021

The European Society for Molecular Imaging (ESMI) represents the **scientific community** involved in **multidisciplinary molecular imaging science**. This includes basic, preclinical, translational, and clinical research on imaging technologies, methodologies, biomarkers and probes, modelling and data analysis.

Central to its mission is the **creation of a collaborative community** to pursue new ideas to **image biological processes**. ESMI strives to **transfer this knowledge** from experimental imaging studies to the implementation of diagnostic and the rapeutic strategies.

The core value and competence of the ESMI is the integration and representation of **all imaging modalities and relevant disciplines**.

The ESMI – led by **international leaders** in the field and dedicated to scientific excellence, innovation, integration, and education – shapes the present and future of imaging science by:

- Strengthening the multidisciplinary and inter-sectoral imaging science community by providing an **international and dynamic platform for collaboration**.
- Providing a forum for continuous education, exchange of knowledge, and best practices at the **highest scientific level**.
- Offering the **young imaging science community** a supportive and dynamic environment to shape the future of the field and continue to be an integral part of the ESMI.
- **Stimulating alliances** with related fields to promote exchange of knowledge and innovation.
- Identifying and contributing to relevant European directives that affect molecular imaging research and related **funding strategies**.

YOUR ESMI GOVERNING BOARD MEMBERS 2020/21

Frauke Alves, Germany
René Botnar - UK
Hervé Boutin, UK
Rafael Torres Martin De Rosales - UK
Dario Longo - Italy
Laura Mezzanotte - The Netherlands
Michal Neeman - Israel
Vasilis Ntziachristos - Germany
Roger Schibli - Switzerland
Greetje Vande Velde - Belgium
Jolanda de Vries - The Netherlands
Cornelius Faber - Germany

Uwe Himmelreich - Belgium Elisabeth Jonckers - Belgium Marleen Keyaerts - Belgium
Fabian Kiessling, Germany
Adriaan Lammertsma - The Netherlands
Jordi Llop - Spain
Emmet Mc Cormack - Norway
Bernd Pichler - Germany
Daniel Razansky - Switzerland
Mickaël Tanter - France
Wolfgang Weber - Germany
Albert D. Windhorst, The Netherlands
Tim Witney – UK
Giannis Zacharakis, Greece